Original Composition Demo – Radiophonic Sound Tests: Part 3

This demo piece represents the culmination of my efforts to design a radiophonic inspired piece, albeit in draft form.  It stands as a rough representation of how my final project will sound.

The composition was created in the GarageBand programme, and was my attempt at making a piece of music that embodied the works of the BBC Radiophonic Workshop’s classic ‘musique-concrete’ period (1950s-1960s) and their later ‘synth inspired’ period (1970-1980), both of which they are best known for and most associated with.  One particular influence was the works of Radiophonic Workshop composer Roger Limb, whose music generally focused more on atmosphere over melody.  Below is a condensed example of his musical score for ‘Doctor Who’ story, ‘The Caves of Androzani’.  Foreboding, and undoubtedly atmospheric, it was the grungy sound of this score that I enjoyed, and that I hoped to recapture to an extent.

My piece combines original material with sampled radiophonic pieces, some of which, like certain elements of the ‘Doctor Who’ theme, I had to manually isolate from the rest of the track using Adobe Audition in order to get a clean sample.

I envisioned a piece of music that underwent a progressive transformation – a bleak atmospheric piece representative of the works of Roger Limb and Delia Derbyshire, gradually building to become more bombastic and positive in tone.  The outcome of this transformation would be that the audience were left with the original ‘Doctor Who’ theme tune from 1963.  I included shades of this over the course of the piece, slowly becoming more prominent before eventually fully unveiling a rendition of the recognizable ‘middle eight’ segment of the classic theme.  To complete the transformation, the piece finally morphs into Derbyshire’s classic composition.  In this respect, I feel the piece is a resounding success.

My composition was mixed together using a combination of GarageBand, Adobe Audition and even Adobe Premiere before I had properly familiarized myself with the prior programmes.

Leave a Reply

